It’s good to be back! Thanks Aimee!!!   Leave a comment

I feel good to be back!  Since NDP went down a while back I didn’t really have a home to blog on and shortly I realized I didn’t have to time to really focus on following politics and much of the news as in depth as I used to.  With the occasional sporadic posting on Facebook or elsewhere I was pretty much out of the loop!  I just moved from Northern Virginia to the Shenandoah Valley region and it’s a little different from what I was used to in Herndon.  I’m still in the 10th Congressional District but I’m not living in an area that went nearly 70% for John McCain and that is definitely a shock to my system.  Finding Dems out here is a little harder than I thought it would be compared to Fairfax County but the few I’ve ran into are awesome people with good ideas and beliefs.

Now, as most people now I’m not the most progressive in comparison to others who write on blogs but in the end I’m still a Democrat.  Always have been, always will be.  When it comes to issues like immigration, crime and gun control I don’t tow the party line but my beliefs are usually based on my own personal experiences with all three issues given my occupation in law enforcement.  Hopefully living out here in the Shenandoah Valley I can give a little insight into how Democrats out here work to help getting Democrats elected inside what I view as hostile, “red” territory and also some insight on such issues as immigration, organized labor and criminal justice from a perspective of someone who deals with it first hand on a day-to-day basis.  Luckily, for me as a Democrat my party isn’t going to kick me out because  I don’t pass the purity test like the Tea Party is trying to implement right now with many of their candidates and incumbents.  We got to where we are because we’re an more inclusive party and willing to work with ideas and beliefs that aren’t perfectly in sync with the overall ideology.

And finally, a special thanks to Aimee Fausser who didn’t forget about me when she decided to restart New Dominion Project!  I think when I didn’t have a place to write I sort of fell off the map and ever since I got that text about coming back I was giddy with excitement 🙂

Posted July 26, 2010 by danielkalb in Uncategorized

Leave a comment